Alla inlägg den 19 augusti 2011

Av Lisbeth - 19 augusti 2011 22:09

  (The Liberty Voice, 8 Aug) The chief of the secretive US special operations command has lobbied against the release of names of American commandos killed in a helicopter crash in Afghanistan, officials said Tuesday.

Thirty US troops were killed on Friday when their Chinook helicopter was shot out of the sky in a remote Afghan valley, but in a break with Pentagon practice, the identities of the dead service members have not been released.

The dead included 22 members of the elite Navy SEAL commandos and three Air Force special operators, and senior officers overseeing the special forces are reluctant to publicly identify the slain troops, officials said.

“There were concerns expressed by the SOCOM (US Special Operations Command) commander about the safety of the members of the unit and their families and the families of the fallen,” a senior military officer told AFP.

“He’s raised concerns and senior leaders are looking at it right now,” the officer added, requesting anonymity.

But officials noted that the names of dead service members are not classified as secret under US law.

Since the loss of the chopper, several families have come forward and publicly identified their loved ones in television interviews.

Admiral Eric Olson, who formally stepped down as SOCOM chief on Monday, has spoken previously about the need to uphold secrecy to protect the safety of servicemen and their families.

Under the Pentagon’s rules, the identities of dead service members are released publicly 24 hours after families are notified about the death of their loved ones.

Av Lisbeth - 19 augusti 2011 06:12


As I look back on my life
I realize that I have always loved you
Even when I didn’t know who you were
But I knew there could be only one
With love so true


I have always had this fuzzy image
of what my soul mate would be like
But when I met you
The image became clear and had a name
And I knew who was to be my love


Your face shines like the morning sun
Your eyes are supple dark pools
Your skin is so soft, so perfect
You are far more beautiful
than any jewels


Why or How you chose me
I will never know
or understand
But I am sure the Lord above
Had a helping hand


I think of all the crazy things
That have come our way
I am so glad that you-
my best friend and my beloved ..


Where will the path that we are on take us?
Your guess is as good as mine
But I do know that
As long as we are together
Life will be more than fine


It seems so odd
That this incredible journey
Started so simple
The woman of my dreams
Came walking out of the clouds towards me


And yet it shouldn’t really surprise me
Your love so pure and true
You bring me so much joy
I love you so much
It has always been you! / L L


  

Presentation


SC Ormeryds Clint Eastwood DSM
& Yours Truly

Fråga mig

17 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26
27
28
29
30
31
<<< Augusti 2011 >>>

Tidigare år

Senaste inläggen

Sök i bloggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

Länkar

RSS

Besöksstatistik

Ulvus - gäst hos verkligheten

senaste kommentarerna


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards